5 Most Anticipated Movies of the Rest of 2014

So with hitting the half way point of 2014 many of my fellow bloggers are giving their top 5 films of the year so far. These lists have been great and provided me with some interesting reading. However just for a bit of variety I am going to look forward into 2014 rather than back. So here I am going to give you an insight into my Top 5 most anticipated movies still to be released in 2014. (In order of release date in the UK)

1. Transformers: Age of Extinction (Release date – 10th July)

ImageAmerica have been lucky enough to already have had Transformers 4 released, and it has taken an absolute bucket load at the box office. Despite it’s impressive performance there, Transformers: Age of Extinction hasn’t fared so well with the critics. This doesn’t surprise or worry me too much though, I am a massive fan of this franchise and I am confident that Michael Bay will deliver. Although I didn’t like the decision to reboot and recast the series I still can’t wait for this explosion heavy summer blockbuster, oh yeah and Dinobots. Enough said.

2. Dawn Of The Planets Of The Apes (Release date – 17th July)

ImageCaesar returns in this sequel to 2011’s reboot Rise of the Planet of the Apes, and it is looking more badass in every possible way. I only watched Rise for the first time last week, but I am so glad I did so that I can be a part of the buzz for this sequel. The trailers and posters that have been released so far have all been awesome and I am excited to see how the story develops from the first movie. Also Gary Oldman is involved so I have high hopes for his character too although the best thing about the first film was the Apes so I am hoping for more of the same!

3. The Purge: Anarchy (Release date – 25th July)

ImageUnlike most film fans I really enjoyed the first Purge Movie that was released last year, and much to my pleasure it has spawned a sequel. This time the plot seems to be more open and the film won’t be restricted by its setting which was a problem that many highlighted with the first film. Hopefully more of the concept put forward by this movie will be explored and I am hoping there will be plenty of jump scares and maybe some moral questions thrown up again like in the first film.

4. Lucy (Release date – 22nd August)

ImageLucy sees Scarlett Johansson in the lead role in this action sci-fi flick. Johansson is one of the most exciting actresses making movies at the minute, her role as Black Widow has been fantastic in the multitude of Marvel films she is featured in among her many other recent performances. The plot seems to allow Johansson to fully throw herself into this role and should be badass, her performance as Black Widow only fills me with confidence for what we should see here. I am hoping that Lucy can be another great film that Johansson can add to her so far flourishing career.

5. The Maze Runner (Release date – 10th October)

ImageThe Maze Runner is the first film in the series of books written by James Dashner. I don’t know a lot about this movie but I suppose that is one reason I am so intrigued. It does seem similar to the likes of The Hunger Games and Divergent series but the trailer had me hooked and I like the concept so that is why it earns its place in my list. There are already talks of developing the second book into a movie too so it looks like we have another “teen series” on our hands, although these types of movies do have flaws they are explicitly entertaining at the same time.

So that is my list, let me know which films you are looking forward to most for the rest of 2014! There are of course many other movies that I am looking forward to in 2014 and I haven’t mentioned them all, but here are a few more that just missed out on the Top 5 list;

 Boyhood (11th July)                                                                                                                                                             Guardians of the Galaxy (31st July)                                                                                                                                     The Judge (24th October)                                                                                                                                                     Interstellar (7th November)                                                                                                                                                   The Hobbit: The Battle of The Five Armies (12th December)

14 thoughts on “5 Most Anticipated Movies of the Rest of 2014

  1. Interesting list, and I agree with most of them, but I wouldn’t get too pumped for Transformers. Even with the low expectations I possessed, it was a let-down. My 0/5 rating for it explains everything.

    • Aw no! Although I feel now with all these negative reviews that I have no expectations, so I feel that I could end up loving it! I am a die hard fan of the franchise too!

      • Really? I liked the first movie, but after that it just descended into mediocrity, especially the second one which is actually my least favorite film of all-time.
        If you enjoyed the second installment, you’ll probably enjoy this one as well.

      • My favourite one is the third, I properly love that movie – the finale is so epic and I liked the casting changes in terms of changing Megan Fox for RHW. The second movie is my least favourite of the series but I rewatched it recently and still enjoyed it, I’m a sucker for badass robots and explosions.

  2. For me, Guardians of the Galaxy looks to be the most crazy, refreshing, vibrant and interesting blockbuster we’ve seen in many a good year and will hopefully herald less dark blockbusters. Don’t get me wrong, love Batman Begins and The Dark Knight, but other than Marvel pretty much all blockbusters since then have been way too dark.

    Boyhood just looks beautiful. Richard Linklater might just be my favourite director working today (Before Sunrise! Dazed and Confused! School of Rock! Too many great films!). Dawn of the Planet of the Apes looks fucking awesome, and Interstellar has a fucktonne of potential.

    But personally, I’m far more interested in some of the Oscar contenders for this year (Many of which probably won’t see release in the UK till 2015). True Story, Mr Turner, Gone Girl, Birdman, Inherent Vice and Foxcatcher are all by some of the best filmmakers on the planet (Mike Leigh! David Fincher! Innaritu! PTA! Too many great directors!) and all have brilliant premises. 2014 looks to be a great year.

  3. Interesting list, honestly the best one on that list is Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, that’s my film I’m waiting for. Rise back in 2011 was badass and the sequel looks so much better! I NEED that film. As my top 5 it looks like this:

    1. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
    2. Guardians of the Galaxy (this would be my number 1 but I’ve been waiting for Dawn for 3 years!)
    3. The Hobbit Part 3
    4. Lucy
    5. Sin City 2

    • Yeah, the time is getting closer that we will be able to see it, I really can’t wait. I think it is going to build on the first film in every single way! Agree with the rest of your list too – although I am not as excited for GOTG as I first was, I am sick of seeing the trailers now. Overkill!

  4. Awesome list! Maze Runner is definitely in my top 5 anticipated also. I’m just about to finish reading the first book and the premise is pretty crazy. Everything seems to have the Hunger Games things going but I guess thats what dystopian worlds consist of. I just wonder how they’ll set up the whole Maze thing. Its one thing to have an idea what everything looks like, but to see it on the big screen (if done right) should be pretty epic. 🙂

    • Awesome, it is always great to see books you have read made into movies! Although there are positives for me too, who hasn’t read the book! As I don’t know the plot I think I can benefit a bit more from suspense etc! Plus no disappointments if any major plot points are changed/left out! Either way we should both enjoy watching the movie! You will have to let me know what you think of it when you see it! 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

      • I just checked out the trailer before and let me tell you, it looks pretty cool. So many book adaptations this year though. Its a bit crazy…
        And yes, if I make it to the theatre (and I should), I will definitely do a write-up on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

