What I’ve Been Watching

moonrise-kingdom-04

(Spoiler free)

If you have followed my blog from the start you will know that I used to review literally every film I watched. Recently I have stopped reviewing DVDs as I simply haven’t had the time, however over the last while I have watched some really great films and I just wanted to share my thoughts about them with you.

The first is Wes Andersons Moonrise Kingdom. Naturally after seeing The Grand Budapest Hotel at the beginning of the year I wanted to explore more of Andersons work. Moonrise Kingdom was very similar to TGBH but of course this was only a good thing. It is clear from watching these two films that Anderson has a very unique direction for his films but one that is wonderfully entertaining and enthralling. The well known cast including Edward Norton and Bruce Willis only added to the picture and helped to make this film so easy to enjoy. I’m looking forward to watching more of Andersons films in the future.

Inglourious_Basterds_posterProbably my favourite DVD that I have watched recently would be Inglorious Basterds. This is a film that I have been meaning to watch for AGES! This is now one of the only Tarantino films that I have seen but boy was it brilliant. I loved the fictitious story set against the factual background. Films about the war are always interesting but what was done here was something I had never seen before and because the story was fiction I didn’t know the outcome, which immediately added so much more intrigue. Some of the scenes in this movie were exceptionally long but they never became a chore to watch, in fact it was the opposite. This was much to the credit of the fantastic cast. Brad Pitt, Michael Fassbender and Christophe Waltz. The entire film was just great, it looked good, was acted well and it sounded brilliant. Also after watching this movie the news that Christophe Waltz could possibly playing the next Bond villain excites me so much as he was tremendous here in his villainous role so I can only wonder at how great he would be as an adversary for Bond.

American-Psycho-006The third film I want to talk about is American Psycho. This is a film that has been brought to my attention a few times by friends and of course through its use in popular culture. I finally got round to watching the DVD recently and goodness, I don’t think anything could have prepared me for what I was about to watch. Christian Bale puts in the performance of his career in my opinion. If Bale hadn’t of already been playing Batman in the Nolan trilogy he certainly would have been playing the Joker in the second film. American Psycho is probably the most accurately named film of all time, the film was responsible for so much tension and suspense. I know I will have to watch the film a couple more times to fully process just what occurs but I enjoyed watching it the first time so much that this will be no issue for me.

With the sad news of Robin Williams passing earlier this year many fans took to social media to pay their respects, many discussing their favourite films of his. What became very clear to me was just how many of his films I hadn’t seen. So I started my catch up with Good Will Hunting, which while most definitely a good movie I didn’t quite get the acclaim that it is held in. However more recently I watched Dead Poets Society and here I could appreciate the acclaim. The film was surprisingly touching and much more emotional than I was expecting. The film was also fantastically funny and of course allowed for Robin Williams to do what he did best, it was quite wonderful to watch. Although, the film is much more than Robin Williams as the group of young boys (including a young Ethan Hawke) that the film follows were also highly engaging in terms of their stories and characters. This is a wonderful film about so much, and is definitely one to watch.

dead-poets-society1So, that was just a quick catch up on what I have been watching recently. If you have any opinions on the films I have mentioned above please let me know, I’d love to hear them! Also if you have any recommendations send them my way. Thanks for reading! 

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Watching

Leave a Reply

