My Thoughts on the 2015 BAFTA Nominations

BAFTA2013So this morning saw the full list of nominations revealed for the 2015 BAFTA Awards. I love award season even if it is rare for my favourite films/performances to be recognised. In this article I’m going to go through some of the categories and tell you which nomination I think deserves to win.

BEST FILMgrand-budapest

Birdman
Boyhood
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything

MY WINNER – The Grand Budapest Hotel

All of the films nominated in this category have so much to offer and I can understand all their nominations. I would be genuinely happy to see any of them receive the BAFTA, which is usually never the case. However my winner would be The Grand Budapest Hotel, I think it is easily the most entertaining of all the five films and has the great re-watchability combined with an unreal central performance from Ralph Fiennes making the film a joy to watch.

OUTSTANDING BRITISH FILM Brand_new_poster_for_Paddington_starring_Ben_Whishaw__Hugh_Bonneville_and_Peter_Capaldi

’71
The Imitation Game
Paddington
Pride
The Theory of Everything
Under the Skin

MY WINNER – Paddington
I can’t say that I have seen every film in this category as I am still to see Under The Skin however I have seen the other five efforts. I would love to see Paddington take away this award though as I think this is possibly one of the great family films of all time. To add to this I don’t think the voice casting could have been any more perfect than it was due to Ben Whishaws performance. I would probably be equally as happy to see The Theory of Everything win though for its fantastic portrayal of Stephen Hawking’s life.
ANIMATED FILM2014_big_hero_6-wide
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
The Lego Movie

MY WINNER – Big Hero 6
This category is a two-horse race for me, The Lego Movie and Big Hero 6 could grab this award but Big Hero 6 edges it for me. There was more heart in the Disney effort and its utilisation of the superhero theme is perfect for our superhero obsessed culture.  As well as that we had awesome design, comedy and music meaning this is an animation fully deserving of the BAFTA.
DIRECTOR boyhood-banner-672x372
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
James Marsh (The Theory of Everything)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

MY WINNER – Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Once again I find myself being happy with all five nominations and all of these directors deserve this BAFTA however I do think that Richard Linklater deserves it the most. The fact that he stuck with his project, Boyhood, for 12 years is such an achievement but he did much more than that in terms of direction. He was able to seamlessly piece together those 12 years into one film and although I don’t enjoy the film the same way others do I can still recognise what a tremendous directing achievement it is.

LEADING ACTOR nightcrawler_ver3

Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

MY WINNER – Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)
The Leading Actor category is a strong as it has ever been and for me has two front runners, Jake Gyllenhaal and Eddie Redmayne. Both deliver possible career best performances here however Gyllenhaal’s just overshadows Redmayne’s for me. Gyllenhaal was so captivating and mesmerising in this role creating such a memorable character in the shape of Lou Bloom that will no doubt become a figure in cinema history.
 LEADING ACTRESScdn.indiewire.com
Amy Adams (Big Eyes)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

MY WINNER – Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Even though I really wasn’t a fan of the film Gone Girl one thing that I did think was brilliant in the film was the performances from both Pike and Affleck. I’m so glad to see that Pike has been nominated here and I think should walk this award, her biggest competition in my opinion would be Felicity Jones who I would be happy to see get the award to but for me Pikes performance just screamed awards!
SUPPORTING ACTOR _AF_6405.CR2
Steve Carell (Foxcatcher)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
JK Simmons (Whiplash)

MY WINNER – Edward Norton (Birdman)
I am seeing Foxcatcher this weekend so my opinions on this category could well change but for now Norton wins it for me. He was the best he has been in years in Birdman and was successful in making his character both really likeable and strangely detestable. He brought humour and heart to his performance but I do think he will have a hard time beating JK Simmons to the award as he was also brilliant.
SUPPORTING ACTRESS183367

Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Keira Knightly (The Imitation Game)
Imelda Staunton (Pride)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Rene Russo (Nightcrawler)

MY WINNER – Keira Knightly (The Imitation Game)
I’m not usually a fan of Knightly but she changed my opinion of her with her performance in The Imitation Game. I thought she was really fantastic and held her own against Benedict Cumberbatch. Emma Stone is easily my favourite actress out of the nominations however I really don’t think that her performance in Birdman was anything award worthy, good but not award worthy.
So those are my picks for the major awards categories for this years BAFTAs, what do you think of the nominations and my picks? Do you think any films/actors/actresses have been snubbed this year? Let me know all of your thoughts below!
2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the 2015 BAFTA Nominations

  1. Good choices man. Would agree with most of you there. Although (and I havent seen Birdman yet so might be a bit early to say) Steve Carrell in FOxcatcher was incredible so Ed would have to really pull something off to beat him for my money

    • Yeah as I said when I picked that I hadn’t seen Foxcatcher so my mind has been changed for me! I would give it to Carell or Ruffalo now but honestly that category is so good! All the nominations are great, I’d be happy with any winner bar Hawke!

Leave a Reply

