The Lobster (Cinema Screening)

thelobster-posters(spoiler free)

The Lobster has caused a stir amongst the film festivals and once you hear the synopsis you can begin to understand why. If you don’t know what the film is about, in a nutshell the plot is this, single people are given 45 days to find a partner and if they are unsuccessful they are sent into the woods and turned into an animal of their choice. So yeah I’d be pretty confident in saying that The Lobster will be the strangest film you see this year, is it more than just strange though?

I thought that The Lobster was pretty fantastic, not only is this the strangest film you will see this year but it is probably the funniest you will see too. Well, this depends on your kind of humour but if you enjoy dark comedy this film will suit you down to the ground as the laughs just keep coming. Like most dark comedies there are also many moments in which you aren’t sure if you should be laughing or not but while you are deciding the uncertainly almost always ends in a giggle. Hand in hand with the dark comedy comes some truly shocking moments, these were so great and I loved that there wasn’t just one moment like this, the film is full of moments to make you gasp. There is even more to The Lobster though and for those willing to think a bit more about the film will be stimulated by its accurate social commentary. The pressure of todays society to find a partner is ridiculous and The Lobster is wildly successful in mocking it doing so in funny and shocking ways. The cast are tremendous here and stay in line with the complete oddball nature of the film. Colin Farrell, Rachel Weisz, Olivia Coleman, Ashley Jensen, John C. Reilly, Lea Seydoux and Ben Whishaw are all wonderful in their roles all crafting believable performances in the most unbelievable circumstances!

While I was watching The Lobster I was thinking to myself, “Is this the best film of the year?” I was enjoying it so much and struggling to think of any film that I had liked more. However, this wasn’t to last as the second half of the film just couldn’t keep up with the wonderfully weird pace that the first half had set. The Lobster was the kind of film in which every scene would raise several questions in the viewers mind, I certainly found myself wrestling with many questions throughout the film and as a result I was quite unsettled for the running time. I doubt this would be a problem on a second viewing as I have a tighter grasp on the whole plot now but it was an issue as I watched it in the cinema. As I’ve mentioned the second half of the film encounters problems but its pacing was the biggest – as I was watching I came to the the conclusion that the film must have had a running time close to at least 150 minutes however when the film ended I discovered that not even 120 minutes had passed. Now don’t get me wrong it’s not boring in its second half it just slows way down and this coupled with my unsettled state meant that I did think the film went on a tad long. This is a shame as the first half was so original and engaging. Anyway the film ends well and will certainly provoke discussion which is something that is invaluable for films.

The Lobster is a must see in terms of the 2015 film year, it’s unusual concept is fully embraced delivering laughs, shocks and discussion throughout the film. Be warned though as the fantastic quality of the first half of the film isn’t quite maintained into its second but it never drops too much meaning that overall The Lobster is a brilliant movie. Surely the most unique film of the year The Lobster is a must for any film fan.

Rating – 8/10

4 thoughts on “The Lobster (Cinema Screening)

Leave a Reply

