Top 10 Worst Films of 2015

FINAL TOP 10

(spoiler free)

So before I begin my celebration of film in 2015, which there is a lot of to celebrate, I want to get through the stink pile of the year first. On the whole I actually think 2015 has been pretty decent, with not too many awful efforts. Of course I managed to avoid many of the films I thought would be terrible so there is that however there were still more than enough films to fill my 10 spots.

A few dis-honourable mentions first though. There were plenty of films that I know were shocking this year but for one reason or another I was entertained while watching them, even though I knew they were rubbish movies. So for those reasons; ‘Jupiter Ascending’, ‘Poltergeist’ & ‘The Boy Next Door’ probably all should be on this list but escape because they entertained me! Anyway onto the official list now;


#10. Focus

Focus-poster

‘Focus’ had all the ingredients to be a slick, sexy and stylish crime movie. However, due to the gaping lack of plot for the majority of the film the movie ends up being devoid of suspense and action. Will Smith and Margot Robbie never get the chance to express real emotion due to the script which is a shame because the movie ends up being more about their romance than any cons. It’s rather ironic that the film is without any real focus and this is attempted to be covered with humour but it’s obvious to audiences that ‘Focus’ is nothing but a big screen con.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#9. Panpan hugh jackman

‘Pan’ was the Peter Pan prequel that no-one ever asked for. Full of animated characters and overacting at every turn this film was cringe-worthy far too often. Hugh Jackman does try as Blackbeard but due to every other aspect of the film being misjudged he couldn’t save this disaster. The film fails to address the only interesting aspect to the story, how Pan and Hook became enemies. I could go on and on about ‘Pan’ for the entire life span of the boy who never grows up and still not be finished telling you everything negative about it.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#8. Hitman: Agent 47gallery-hitman3-gallery-image

There isn’t a great history of video game to film adaptations and ‘Hitman: Agent 47‘ only cements this pattern. Rupert Friend plays Agent 47 and unfortunately is nothing but awkward in the role. His character, along with the rest of those featured here, aren’t likeable in any way which causes problems for the viewers attention. The film attempts to go in too many different directions and ends up going nowhere, meaning that ‘Hitman: Agent 47’ fails to convincingly make the leap from video game to film. 

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#7. Unfinished Businessunfinished business 1

The whole premise to this film is absolutely ridiculous and not believable in any way, shape or form. Due to this the film had a mountain to climb from the offset. It didn’t help that none of the characters are likeable and the film fails to produce any laughter. Of course a cheesy drama element is shoehorned in too which only ends up being embarrassing for Vince Vaughn who fronts the majority of this element. I expected a shoddy comedy like this from Vaughn but Tom Wilkinson, Sienna Miller – I’m judging you, you’re better than this.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#6. Mortdecai

mortdecai_612x380_0‘Mortdecai’ is the definition of a lazy comedy as it borrows all it’s ideas form past films and it manages to screw them all up. Johnny Depp continued his awful run of films with this effort early in 2015 and the idiocy of the main character is never charming but always irritating. The film takes far too long to get going, its never funny and becomes boring at an alarming rate. The worst thing of all though was definitely that mustache gag, it wasn’t funny the first time and yet the film proceeds to repeat it for the entire film.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#5. Search Partysearch_party_xxlg

THE worst comedy of 2015 award goes to ‘Search Party’. Ripping off ‘The Hangover’ left, right and centre this movie manages to scrape the very bottom of the comedy barrel and then some. The usually very likable Adam Pally and T.J. Miller unfortunately aren’t enough to save this film and can’t even make their own characters likeable. I didn’t think there could be a comedy worse than ‘Unfinished Business’ and ‘Mortdecai’ but somehow ‘Search Party’ managed it and I guess that’s actually quite impressive but in the worst way possible.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#4. The D-Trainthe-d-train-jack-black-trailer-001

‘The D-Train’ was the most misleading film of the year for sure, setting its audiences up for a buddy comedy and then giving them this, what is that about!? The film actually ends up being a very dark and depressing affair. The tone of the film is very confusing and the movie fails to deal with it’s bizarre themes. It’s attempts to be a dark comedy just come across as being distasteful and its bizarre finale and lack of closure only left me even more baffled than as I watched it’s madness unfold. With this and ‘Unfinished Business’ under his belt 2015 is a year that James Marsden is going to want to forget.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#3. Good Killgood kill

‘Good Kill’ was only ever going to be so interesting as it follows the duties of a drone pilot. The drone element to the film meant that there was a distinct lack of action which was a shame. The one thing the film had going for it, the ethical questions, are unfortunately never explored fully. Other elements to the movie such as the main characters family life don’t work either due to the lack of character development and stale performances. ‘Good Kill’ had great potential and in the same year that ‘American Sniper’ was realised could have complemented it nicely but instead with an unimaginative script, non-existing pacing and uninspiring performances ‘Good Kill’ is the furthest thing in quality from ‘American Sniper’. Oh and did I mention that this film is SO boring.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#2. The Gambler

Wahlberg's 'Gambler' never lets us see him sweat - unfortunately

Much like ‘Focus’ there was a lot of potential here for an exciting look into gambling. It’s a shame that ‘The Gambler’ is the dullest movie of 2015. With such a dislikable main character it was hard to get on board with the story. The script also removes any potential for drama and the disconnection from the story that the viewer experiences just means that you really don’t care. Not even the gambling scenes feature any suspense. Even if a film is bad but still manages to entertain me I won’t absolutely hate it. However being bored at the cinema is my pet hate and due to the dull nature of ‘The Gambler’ it only narrowly escapes my #1 worst film of 2015.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#1. Inherent Vice Inherent-Vice-Film---2014-009
I know that I’m gonna get hate for this as I’ve really only seen glowing reviews for it, but what the hell was ‘Inherent Vice’!? I honestly didn’t have a clue what was going on in this film at any stage. The whole thing was like one massive trip and while others said that you just had to experience it I couldn’t accept this. I certainly experienced something, the most boring cinema experience of my entire lifetime. This film was an ordeal, the exact opposite of everything I want a film to be. The film lost my interest in the very first scene as the plot went straight over my head and no clarity was offered throughout the rest of the movie. I’ve never willed a film to end like I did with ‘Inherent Vice’. I knew as soon as I saw it that it would be taking my #1 spot.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


So there you have it, my top 10 worst movies of 2015. Remember that this is my list and simply showcases my experiences and opinions of film for this year. Please let me know what you thought of the list though, did I mention a film you loved or maybe you think I should have a film on here that isn’t? Leave a comment below or tweet me @HCMovieReviews and we can get the discussion going.

Happy New Year and here’s to a lot better movies in 2016!


If you enjoyed this list maybe you’d consider voting for my blog at the UK Blog Awards 2016. Follow THIS LINK to do so.


 

12 thoughts on “Top 10 Worst Films of 2015

  1. I’m with you on a lot of this and you’re far from the only one who didn’t like Inherent Vice. That film was a chore. Didn’t think Good Kill was that bad though.

    • Thank goodness, I remember watching Film 2015 after seeing it and they didn’t have a bad word to say about it, couldn’t believe it! For me there was a good film in there with an interesting concept but it was just too monotonous among other things.

      • I actually think PT Anderson achieved what he was trying to do with the film from what I heard about how weird the book is. It’s just that what he was going for wasn’t exactly something I found enjoyable which is a shame because he’s one of my favourite directors.

      • Yeah it seems that the film equals the book in all its madness but as you say just wasn’t enjoyable. I’m pretty sure that this is the first PTA film I saw and I did want to check out some of his other stuff but it’s put me way off!

      • Definitely still give him a go. He’s like a mix of Tarantino and Scorsese. Boogie Nights is absolutely awesome!

  2. I remember after reading the reviews for Inherent Vice and seeing the cast, I thought it was going to terrific. But then I heard from a few other people that it was supposed to be a bit like going with all your friends to a party, but you’re the one whose driving everyone home at the end of the night so you can’t have a drink. Needless to say I didn’t need much dissuading then…

  3. Inherent Vice, Pan and Focus all made my worst films of the year list as well so we certainly share the hate for those in common haha. Fortunately it seems I did not see the other 7 you have listed and therefore nothing is making me now want to see them!

Leave a Reply

