Top 50 Films of 2015

fINAL TOP 50 IMAGE

(spoiler free)

2015 was the year of the sequels, with much loved franchises like Star Wars, Jurassic Park, James Bond and many more continuing their ongoing stories through new movies. However, it was in the more original movies and the adaptations where 2015 gave us its best films. I saw a total of 151 of the cinematic releases in the UK this year and most times I went to the cinema I had a good time. For those not so good times you can check out my ‘Top 10 Worst Films of 2015’ list. In this list we’re all about positivity and celebration though, so let the countdown begin!


#50. The Interview the-interview

In the same year that ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ was released you’d be forgiven for thinking that no film would be more controversial, enter ‘The Interview’. James Franco and Seth Rogen almost started WWIII with this extremely relevant and up to date comedy. It’s ambitious plot which is either very brave or very stupid, I probably think it’s a combination of both, is certainly bold and I commend it for this. Whilst it’s not funny 100% of the time the chemistry that Franco and Rogen have is enough to make up for it and there’s even some nice action scenes in the finale!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#49. Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection Fdragonballz

When I was a young lad there was nothing that I liked more than watching Dragon Ball Z. The fact that a new movie was made would have been enough to keep me happy but the fact that it was released into the cinema was such a treat. The film is easy to follow and any gaps in DBZ knowledge aren’t a problem. The film allocates screen time for its characters very well allowing everyone’s favourites a moment to shine. There is a noticeable improvement in animation and as always there is great banter between Goku and Vegeta. Star Wars nostalgia ain’t got nothing on this for me!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#48. Carolcarol-cannes-film-festival-3

‘Carol’ isn’t the kind of film that I would normally watch, I’m not that big a fan of romance as a genre and I often find films with it at their core boring. Even though I didn’t think that ‘Carol’ had that much of an interesting story it had to make an appearance on my list for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the two central performances from Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara are absolutely insane, two of the best we saw all year. I’d be willing to bet that Blanchett will be walking away with the best actress award at this years Oscars. The second reason it’s on my list is just because of of how gorgeous it is. Between the cinematography, costume design and the use of props ‘Carol’ always kept my eyes entertained. 

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#47. San Andreassan-andreas-movie

Now for something that definitely is more my kind of thing, ‘San Andreas’ was a big blockbuster disaster movie and it did exactly what it said on the tin. The CGI employed here was pretty impressive on the large scales and the action included suited the tone of the movie. The best thing the movie has going for it though is obviously it’s lead actor, The Rock. This guy is the best action star around right now and his screen presence is as powerful as any earthquake. Of course ‘San Andreas’ has plenty of cheese and over the top moments but what fun disaster movie doesn’t!?

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#46. The Visitthe-visit-high-res-still-2

One of the most divisive films of 2015 was M. Night Shyamalan’s latest effort. This was actually the first of his films that I had seen and I have to admit that I had a blast with it. There is a great air of mystery as the film plays out and there is a good balance of tension and humour throughout. Unlike most horror movies the characters here actually have personalities and as a result ‘The Visit’ is always entertaining and quite often very, very creepy.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#45. Child 44child 44

At #45 we have a film that wasn’t so divisive as I quickly found myself to be one of only a few fans of Tom Hardy’s latest movie, ‘Child 44’. I thought that the cast of Hardy, Gary Oldman and Noomi Rapace performed very well in complex roles, dodgy accents have never bothered me. Another standout performance was that of Joel Kinnaman, I’m looking forward to his future projects. Certain moments in the film could have benefited from more tension but overall I found the film to be paced well with plenty of subplots to keep viewers interested. Certainly not boring as many of its critics labelled it. 

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#44. Black Massblack-mass-photo

After years of terrible roles, one being this very year (‘Mortdecai’) finally ‘Black Mass’ allowed us to see Johnny Depp play a decent role again! Depp is great here and his performance brings much tension to the film. For me though it was Joel Edgerton who really elevates this film, he is so great in his supporting role and easily steals the show. Apart from these two performances ‘Black Mass’ is a pretty by the numbers gangster movie, however that is a reliable formula meaning that a good time is guaranteed with this movie.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#43. Spectrespectre mexico 2

A film that I was hoping and expecting to top this list, clearly not everything went according to plan. As a massive Bond fan I had an opinion on every little detail of ‘Spectre’ and whilst I think it’s the weakest of Craig’s Bond era it just happens that even an average Bond movie can still be a great action adventure. The film has an awesome cast with certain individuals shining, the more heavily involved MI6 staff in London were a real treat, especially Ralph Fiennes as ‘M’. There were some great nods to the rest of the series too and the costume design was seriously on point especially during that opening sequence!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#42. Unfriended 1421159655817

A horror that looked cheap and trashy but one that actually managed to be up to date and quite original. ‘Unfriended’ is set completely on a laptop screen and it makes great use of this, being creative before anything even has a chance to become monotonous. The setting is also utilised well in order to create horror and this was a hard movie to watch for all the right reasons.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#41. Snoopy & Charlie Brown: The Peanuts Moviesnoopy-charlie-brown-winter-d

This was the most distinct of any animation this year, it had such a nice style to it which was refreshing amongst the Pixar and Dreamworks efforts. ‘The Peanuts Movie’ had some fantastic characters who were placed into relatable and believable situations. This meant that the film was very relatable and therefore also very funny. Once you get past the unnecessary side plot that runs through the film you are actually left with quite a nice message too. If you’re looking for something to tide yourself over to the new year I’d recommend Charlie Brown and co.


#40. We Are Your Friends we-are-your-friends-review

Much like ‘Child 44’ I quickly realised that after seeing ‘We Are Your Friends’ I was one of its only fans. Being torn to shreds by most critics I actually found the DJ drama to be rather enjoyable. Being a massive fan of dance music helped I suppose as naturally I loved all the music that was featured in the movie and the promises of “the last party of the summer” were definitely fulfilled. Clever animation and editing were used throughout the film to keep scenes and sequences fresh meaning that the film had good pace. The film had more than just good tunes though, with humour, drama and chemistry between the characters I really had a blast here.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#39. Cinderellafile_604636_cinderella-2015-movie-review

This live-action retelling of probably the most well known fairy tale of all time managed to silence all my fears only moments into its running time. Kenneth Branagh does a fantastic job directing and manages to bring a focus to different relationships, not just the ones we are used to seeing fromt he original animation. The cast are great too, with relative unknowns Lily James and Richard Madden having wonderful chemistry and making the romance element a joy to watch. Cate Blanchett also stars and like in ‘Carol’ she demands the attention of the audience, even more so here as she plays the wicked step-mother. Cinderella is a classic tale retold wonderfully by a brilliant director and cast.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#38. True StoryTrueStory1

I’d forgive you for thinking that this entry has to be a comedy as it stars funny men Jonah Hill and James Franco. The reality is that ‘True Story’ is a chilling thriller with some of the most surprising casting all year. Thankfully both lead actors are fantastic in their more serious roles. As well as the two male leads the film features Felicity Jones playing a supporting character who is clearly included to have a relatable figure for the audience, this was a nice touch. The film has a solid structure and is nearly always accompanied by an eerie creepiness that makes this thriller so enthralling.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.  


#37. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl earl

This movie refused to fit into one genre and that is what was so great about it. We’ve seen dozens of high school movies before but this one felt so original. It refuses to abide by any pre set stereotypes or cliches set by genres that it taps into. This is especially evident in the character writing and performances. The cast do a tremendous job portraying their cleverly written characters which only makes the film that bit more interesting and refreshingly unpredictable.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#36. John Wick john-wick-image-keanu-reeves.jpg

‘John Wick’ brought us back the nineties Keanu Reeves with a bang and reminded us that Reeves is far from done with the action genre. ‘John Wick’ is easily one of 2015s best action movies especially because of those combat sequences, most notably the nightclub brawl. ‘John Wick’ begins a trinity of essential action movies for the year which will be finished by two other movies higher on this list. With a simple format which has just the right amount of mystery for the right amount of time ‘John Wick’ will be a cult classic for years to come, and hey there’s a sequel on the way too!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#35. The Dressmaker The Dressmaker Top 50

What I thought was going to be a by the numbers soppy romance film turned out to be so much more. ‘The Dressmaker’ is a mystery, a comedy, a drama and a romance! The comedy has to be it’s best element though. This is transpired in many ways, through the characters, the script, the overall story and most brilliantly by the small town politics. The film is accompanied by a wonderful score that harps back to the classic westerns and this suits the film perfectly. If you can embrace the tonally confused, ‘The Dressmaker’ like I did you’ll be able to have a blast amongst all the madness that it brings to the screen.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#34. Cakecake

Much like ‘True Story’ which saw it’s usually comedic actors play more serious roles here we have the queen of the rom-com take on this more mature role and in brilliant fashion. Whilst ‘Cake’ is emotionally charged one of its best elements is its dark comedy and Aniston took to this very well. Her character, Claire, is very well written and easy to engage with. It’s the combination of humour and emotion that she brings to the screen that makes ‘Cake’ just so good. Probably the most under-rated film of the year.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#33. BrooklynBROOKLYN

Like ‘The Dressmaker’ I worried that ‘Brooklyn’ would be an over emotional story about a love triangle. Thankfully, once again, I was very wrong as ‘Brooklyn’ is quite possibly the best romance we’ve got this year. The combination of drama, romance and comedy keep the pace of the film moving along nicely. It’s the performances of the well written characters that bring the movie to life though, none more impressive than the leading lady, Saoirse Ronan. A charming, grounded and entertaining story mean that ‘Brooklyn’ is a romance that you’ll be hearing about for some time. 

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#32. MacbethMacBethFassbender-xlarge

Michael Fassbender & Marion Cotillard playing Mr. and Mrs Macbeth was only ever going to be good. The performances of both captivated the audience so well and I even think the film could have got more out of Cotillard’s performance. The cinematography was wonderful and appropriately bleak and the more supernatural elements to the Shakespearean play were handled very well. I only wish I could be back in school so that I could watch this to further my study of the play for GCSE English!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#31. Crimson Peakcrimson peak

The latest film from Guillermo del Toro divided audiences but personally I loved it. ‘Crimson Peak’ always looked the part whether this was in terms of its setting, costume design or CGI. This meant the film was always a feast for the eyes which really enhanced the potentially weaker story line. Whilst the film wasn’t the full scale horror movie that it was marketed as it certainly still had a more sinister side to it with just the right amount of creepiness to add to the film. Finally the cast are all great here but standing high above the rest was Jessica Chastain who has had a fantastic year! This is only the first of her 3 films from the year to appear on my list but expect to hear from this very talented lady again!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#30. Legend LEGEND PIC

Tom Hardy makes his second, and third, appearance on this list with Kray twins biopic, ‘Legend’. This film had a pleasantly surprising more light-hearted tone to it in it’s first half which then developed into a more serious commentary on the lives of the infamous twins. Tom Hardy knocks it out the park once more with two fantastic performances, pulling off the dual performance that many, myself included, doubted that he could.  Also making a smaller appearance in this movie was Taron Egerton, of ‘Kingsman: The Secret Service’ fame. In only his third feature film Egerton still manages to impress despite his rather small role.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#29. Ant-Manant man paul

‘Ant-Man’ was basically a remake of ‘Iron Man’ when you really think about it but nonetheless it was another success for Marvel Studios! Paul Rudd brings a real humour and reality to his role and the strong focus on story line meant that I felt like I was watching an Ant-Man movie and not just a stepping stone to the next big Marvel ensemble film. There was comic support from Michael Pena’s character too and the ever present references to the MCU meant that ‘Ant-Man’ was good solid Marvel fun.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#28. Spy spy mm

Bucking the trend of awful Melissa McCarthy films was her latest effort, ‘Spy’. What an appropriate year for this to be released with a film calendar laden with espionage thrillers. This is definitely McCarthy’s best work since ‘Bridesmaids’ in 2011. The perfect cast group of actors and actresses put their all into their very well stereotyped characters. Jason Statham, Jude Law and Rose Byrne are all very funny and due to this the film has a nice balance of parody comedy and original gags.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#27. Irrational Man irrational mannn

Only the second Woody Allen film that I have seen, ‘Irrational Man’ nearly slipped by me this year but I made sure to give it a chance and I was so glad that I did. What I loved so much about this movie was it’s original story. This was such an interesting story and one that I had never seen before. Combined with elements of philosophy throughout the film, it only became more interesting and involved as time passed by. Tied together nicely by its calm score and soft narration from Joaquin Phoenix and Emma Stone, ‘Irrational Man’ was one of the most enjoyable films of the year.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#26. Scouts Guide to the Zombie ApocalypseSCOUTS VS. ZOMBIES

Probably the biggest surprise of the year for me was this zombie comedy, I didn’t have high hopes at all but who knew that it would end up being my favourite comedy of the year! The premise is a great one to start with, the scouting scenarios lent themselves very well to comedy and the chemistry that the lads had also created a load of laughs. The film is just so funny, the script is full of hilarious lines and the film is inventive (especially for the zombie genre) throughout. I can’t wait to re-watch this when it comes out on DVD!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#25. A Most Violent Year a-most-violent-year-review.lead-xlarge

One of Jessica Chastain’s films has already featured on this list, here is her second entry. Alongside Oscar Isaac, who most will now know as Poe from Star Wars, this pair lead a cast that tells the story of oil companies in New York City during its most violent year in history, 1981. Both Isaac & Chastain are just fantastic here, people complained that the story was a little boring, I don’t think it’s possible for me to be bored when these two are acting – really great performances. There is so much I liked about this film and whilst I know it’s not the best film of 2015 it’s most definitely one of my favourites.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#24. Straight Outta Compton NWA.jpg

Compton is a place that I knew zero about, this film took me there and immersed me in it, entertaining and educating me in the process. This film deals with a lot of content and where other films would struggle it manages very well indeed. Due to this large amount of content the film is as powerful as it can be allowing you to experience all emotions as you watch. Discovering the origins and motivations behind the music that these guys produced was really interesting and thankfully the cast do a great job portraying these real life figures. None more so that O’Shea Jackson Jr who plays his real life father Ice Cube.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#23. Inside Outinside-out

In the first year ever to see Pixar Studios release two feature length animations one was bitterly unoriginal and disappointing  but thankfully we got ‘Inside Out’ too which was the polar opposite of those things. In Pixar’s most intelligent film to date we get to see inside a young girls head and try to begin to understand all her emotions. The chemistry between these emotions was great and thanks to the well written nature they had much comedy resulted. There was more than just intelligence and comedy though, this is a Pixar film! It’s obvious to see though as the film has such tremendous heart that it could rival the likes of ‘Up’ and ‘Wall-E’. Pixar were back to their best…until their second release this year.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#22. Fast & Furious 7ff7

I’m a huge Fast and Furious fan and when the news hit in 2013 that star of the franchise Paul Walker had tragically died myself and fans a like were devastated. So it’s understandable that ‘Fast & Furious 7’isn’t the greatest of the series, having a major cast member pass away would disjoint any film. It certainly has it’s problems but the film still manages to have great chemistry between the characters, some spectacular action and some new big names to add to the cast. However, what ‘Fast & Furious 7’ did get right was the tribute to Paul Walker. This was really the only thing I ever cared about and wow did the team behind this movie do an amazing job. Hands down my favourite scene of 2015, the finale to this film is literally perfect.

“For Paul”

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#21. Sicariosicariooo.jpg

Denis Villeneuve gave me one of my all time favourite thrillers in the shape of 2013s ‘Prisoners’ and he was back this year doing what he does best. For ‘Sicario’ Villeneuve has transformed what should have been a standard action movie into a full scale thriller. He does this by using a number of very clever techniques, if you want a thriller directed call Villeneuve, he really is the master of tension. The score contributes greatly to this too, as Johann Johannsson collaborates once more with Villeneuve. The cast of Emily Blunt, Josh Brolin & Benicio del Toro are all fantastic but del Toro steals it for me!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#20. Whiplashwhiplash2

What is there to say that hasn’t already been said about ‘Whiplash’? Many people have this film right at the top of their end of year lists, clearly I didn’t love it as much as those people but I definitely see its appeal! J.K. Simmons and Miles Teller have such a brilliant rivalry in this film meaning that the audience never tire of the back and forth between the pair. The film has, as you would expect, a fantastic score which ties everything together nicely. Best of all though ‘Whiplash’ managed to make drums, an instrument that can be quite boring in isolation, completely captivating. 

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#19. Star Wars: The Force AwakensStar-Wars-Force-Awakens-Rey-Finn-BB8-running

THE film event of the year and another film that is topping a few peoples end of year lists. The Force Awakens certainly gave me my best cinema experience of the year but a few issues with the plot hold it back from really impressing. Nonetheless new director J.J. Abrams gave us lots to love in this movie. The Force Awakens gives us the best action we’ve seen in any Star Wars movie, there is plenty of nostalgia for those fans who just want to forget the prequels and we got a whole host of brand new characters. Is it possible to have 4 favourites from the new bread?

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#18. Avengers: Age of Ultronultron

A quieter year for Marvel with only 2 releases but still a very entertaining one and Age of Ultron is testament to that. Ultron himself was a good villain and a step in the right direction for Marvel in terms of their villains. The film deals with a lot of content and new characters and on the whole it does a pretty good job. Amongst all this the film still manages to have great action sequences and the banter between the team is the best it’s ever been. It’s still such a treat to see all these superheros on screen together, I don’t think it will ever become old.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#17. Mad Max: Fury Roadmad max top 500

Apart from ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ this was the film that had most people talking, it’s been labelled as the best action movie of all time by some. I wouldn’t go that far but I would give it the title of 2015s best action movie. This also happens to be the second part of that essential action trinity for the year that started with ‘John Wick’. With practical effects galore George Miller has created an action spectacle which is pure madness. The score combines with this visual treat so well meaning that the film always looks and sounds amazing. There is character development in there too though and Tom Hardy, Charlize Theron and Nicholas Hoult all perform well. Good luck topping this one George!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#16. Jurassic Worldjurassic world 4-xlarge

The initial issues that I had with this ‘Jurassic Park’ sequel quickly faded after re-watching. There are so many fantastic elements to this plot and it’s in those individual moments that this film really shines. Chris Pratt thankfully didn’t just repeat his Guardians role here and confidently leads the rest of the cast.  ‘Jurassic World’ succeeds where ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ let itself down slightly in that here the nostalgia is offered in equal measure to the new story. The nods to the previous movies were so great and they were spread nicely throughout the film meaning that out of the big blockbuster sequels/reboots I’d say that ‘Jurassic World’ is the most fun!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#15. American Sniperamerican sniper

Way back in January we saw Clint Eastwood’s latest directorial effort, which was adapted from Chris Kyle’s best selling auto-biography of the same name. Eastwood brilliantly develops Kyle’s novel for the big screen combining Kyle’s story with the terror of war. This film is thought provoking about war in ways that other films don’t even question it. Bradley Cooper and Sienna Miller are wonderful as Chris and Taya Kyle and their chemistry matches the intensity of the brutal scenes of war present throughout. It’s Oscar nominations were deserved.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#14. The Theory of EverythingThe-Theory-of-Everything-010.jpg

‘The Theory of Everything’ was one of the first films that I saw in 2015 but it’s undoubtedly one of the best. This film is all about the two central performances from Eddie Redmayne and Felicity Jones. There is a reason that Redmayne won his Oscar and I don’t know that in recent history there has been a more deserving winner. The film is really interesting too though with a god mix of romance and science included, it would seem the two main areas of Hawking’s life. The film is also surprisingly funny which only enhanced what was already a very special film.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#13. The Lobsterlobster2-xlarge.jpg
‘The Lobster’ was without a doubt the weirdest but the most wonderful film that I saw in 2015. It’s absolutely bonkers premise is enough to keep anyone interested but then it heaps on it’s dark comedy in buckets loads. You may laugh here more than in any other comedy this year. On top of this the film gives you so much to talk about afterwards, it’s thought provoking social commentary is one aspect that will get the discussion going and it’s just such a treat that it is put across in such an entertaining way.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#12. Foxcatcher foxcatcher-review-1
Once again heading all the way back to January we were treated to ‘Foxcatcher’ which starred Steve Carell, Channing Tatum & Mark Ruffalo. All three actors were commanding in their performances, each being equally as impressive as the other. Coupled with some very some very powerful scenes I left the cinema wondering why this wasn’t a story I was familiar with but very happy that I had been told it through watching the brilliant ‘Foxcatcher’.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#11. The Gift3
I’ve already discussed how impressed I was with Joel Edgerton’s performance in ‘Black Mass’ but earlier in the year came his greatest achievement for 2015. Edgerton wrote, directed and starred in ‘The Gift’ which is my favourite thriller of the year. The story Edgerton has created here is very well written and the way he directs the movie means that the viewers are told it in the most entertaining way possible. Jason Bateman, Rebecca Hall and Edgerton are all fantastic here and the tension created is testament to them all. I can’t wait to see Edergton’s next directorial effort.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#10. Still Alice still-alice-julianne-moore

‘Still Alice’ finally won Julianne Moore the Oscar that she has deserved for years. Whilst her performance is certainly spectacular and deserves much praise the film is so much more than just a performance. This film will do wonders for Alzheimers awareness and showcases the on going effects of the illness to the individual and surrounding family members so well. Real, honest, heartfelt, informative and emotional are just some of the words I could use to sum up this film, please go watch it.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#9. Paper Towns papertowns-1-gallery-image

‘Paper Towns’ has a lot in common with ‘Me and Earl and the Dying Girl’ in that you can’t really label this movie with a genre. It was this combination of genres that made me like ‘Paper Towns’ so much, the film never becomes overcrowded despite all the different themes running through it. The humour on offer here is infectious and this is much thanks to the chemistry that the cast create between the characters. The film doesn’t stereotype characters or situations which was such a relief and the reason that it sits so highly on my list is simply its wonderful feel good vibes!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#8. Steve Jobssteve-jobs-movie-2015-holding
I think Danny Boyle may have just directed the best biopic I’ve ever seen. ‘Steve Jobs’ was such an experience, who would have thought that a film of conversations could have been so intense, interesting and hilarious, Aaron Sorkin that’s who! His wonderful screenplay is the heart and soul of this film and is brilliantly brought to life through Boyle’s direction and also the fantastic performances of the cast, especially Michael Fassbender and Kate Winslet who should both win awards. I know this was criminally under seen so if you get the chance to watch it please take it.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#7. The Walkthe-walk-1280x720-sgj‘The Walk’ is easily the most visually stunning film I saw this year, using CGI to create the ridiculous heights of the Twin Towers was so awesome and probably made ‘The Walk’ the only film to ever warrant 3D. Joseph Gordon-Levitt threw himself into the role and his story-telling really enhanced the film making it even more of a spectacle than it already was. Before the actual walk we are treated to a heist style movie with appropriate jazzy score to accompany it. This is a good foundation for the actual Walk but when this comes I don’t think anything could have prepared me for the amazement I experienced. The walk in question was an unbelievable feat and this a great movie that showcases it!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#6. SelmaSelma-March

Oscar nominated ‘Selma’ made waves earlier in the year for its brutally honest portrayal of the events that took place in Selma concerning civil rights. This film is very powerful so be prepared for an onslaught against your emotions. This is of course testament to the cast for creating such believabilty and vulnerability to their characters. David Oyelowo portrays non other than Martin Luther King himself and very convincingly too. His deliverance of speeches being the most effective. Selma is an essential history lesson told in the best way possible.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#5. Big Hero 6big-hero-six

So it was Disney’s job to follow up ‘Frozen’ with something bigger and better and whilst ‘Big Hero 6’ maybe hasn’t caught the attention of just as many kids it certainly caught my attention. The latest classic from Disney creates the usual lovable characters, this time round its Baymax and Hiro. This pair are awesome and two of the best characters Disney have ever created, the action that the two get caught up in is genuinely exciting and the humour that flows through the film is great. I also really enjoyed how ‘Big Hero 6’ took advantage of our superhero obsessed culture and as a result we’ve all got a new movie to fan boy over!

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#4. Southpawlarge_lead-southpaw

It’s no secret that Jake Gyllenhaal is one of my favourite actors, his devotion to roles is only one reason why I admire him so much and here in ‘Southpaw’ we see another of his physical transformations. Although this boxing movie is cliched it doesn’t matter at all because everything is done so well. The boxing scenes are so realistic and engaging and they help to showcase the brutality of the sport. The cast all do a great job and as a result, for me,‘Southpaw’ was the most emotionally charged film of 2015.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#3. Kingsman: The Secret ServiceKingsman-Secret-Service-still.jpg

I love spy movies so I should have known that ‘Kingsman: The Secret Service’ would be just for me! This film is perfectly self-aware, knowing that it’s an over the top spy adventure and it really runs with the idea doing so in spectacularly indulgent fashion. Colin Firth and Taron Egerton stand out amongst a star studded cast who make the film funny and most importantly fun! Kingsman is ‘Kick-Ass’ but with spies instead of superhereos, Matthew Vaughn thank you for making movies fun! Oh and this completes the essential action trinity of 2015.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#2. The Martianthe-martian

‘The Martian’ was one of the years most anticipated films and director Ridley Scott had a lot to prove to some people. I’ve honestly yet to hear a bad word about the film and that’s because it’s just so good. It takes the usual survival stories and adds another dimension to it thanks to NASA back on earth who are aware that they left one of their astronauts behind. Matt Damon is fantastic in the role and he brings everything required of him to the role, something that only a few actors like him could do. It’s an intelligent film too but one that knows how to have fun as well, thanks to Jessica Chastain’s characters collection of disco music. (oh and this is her third film on the list!)

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


#1. Ex MachinaEx-Machina-Cast-Wallpapers.jpg

So here it is my #1 film of 2015, ‘Ex Machina’. I’ve seen this film on many other people’s list but it’s always floating around the #4 or #5 mark but for me it had everything to be the best film of the year. The cast of Oscar Isaac, Alicia Vikander and Domhnall Gleeson are all brilliant and each of them have wonderful careers ahead of them. The setting to the film is perfect and combines with the score and cinematography to present this film in the most appealing way possible. It is the story that is why this film is so good though. It will grip you right from the start and it asks questions about humanity that you will ponder during and long after the film. ‘Ex Machina’ has everything that any good sci-fi film should have and director Alex Garland should be very proud of his work.

p.s. there’s also one fantastically more light-hearted scene which many fans of the film have taken to their hearts and to be honest I’d put it at #1 just for this moment.

To read my full REVIEW click HERE.


So there you have it, my Top 50 films of 2015. Congratulations if you’ve made it this far! Upon writing this list I’ve really been reminded of what a great year for film 2015 was. I doubt that anyone who reads this will agree with all 50 films so let me know what you thought. What’s missing from my list and what shouldn’t be in there?

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my blog this year, I’ve certainly enjoyed writing it. Thank you if you do read it, it means a lot that I can share my ramblings with you. Happy New Year and here’s to the next best 50 movies that 2016 have to offer!


If you enjoyed this list maybe you’d consider voting for my blog at the UK Blog Awards 2016. Follow THIS LINK to do so.


 

4 thoughts on “Top 50 Films of 2015

  1. Nice to see some love for The Walk, it did actually work very well with the 3D. 2015 really was such a good year for film so much better than 2014!

    • This list is based on UK releases, so Creed is actually only out here in a few weeks! I’m really looking forward to it though and hopefully it will make an appearance on my 2016 list!

Leave a Reply

