Ratchet & Clank

ratchet-and-clank-movie-poster

(spoiler free)

There are very few video game to film adaptations that I can wholly comment on, this is due to the fact that I’m really not a gamer. The most up to date console I own is a PS2, I personally just don’t get the hype. However back in the day one video game that I did play was ‘Ratchet & Clank’ so because of this I just had to check out the film version which has just been released.

The film has quite a random cast, there are some fairly well known actors featured and then many lesser known voice performers. My favourite cast member was Paul Giamatti who voiced Chairman Drek, the villain for the film. Giamatti was one of the only performers who had much to do here and I enjoyed hearing the low tones of his voice enhance the villainous demeanor of Drek. Sylvester Stallone, John Goodman and Rosario Dawson all feature amongst the cast too and whilst their presence is good any actor could have filled their roles. The characters that are included here offer some sense of nostalgia to past players of the video game and even things such as weapons and gadgets can do the same. There is one scene which was a nice touch which sees one of the characters actually playing one of the past video games. However whilst the nostalgia was an element for sure it’s never really that strong. Unlike last years ‘Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection F’ the memories didn’t come flooding back in the way that I’d hoped they would, there was certainly room for more here.

This film is rated a U and unfortunately I felt that this held the film back from having some more fun. I was expecting the action to be the best element to the film as the video game is action from start to finish. To my disappointment all the action sequences were rather dull and had no scale or spectacle to them. There wasn’t as much comedy for all ages either which was a shame, don’t get me wrong I laughed a few times but not as much as I needed to to keep me on board with the animation as a whole. The U rating is obviously in place to expose the film to as many children as possible however the kids in my screening didn’t even seem to be enjoying it all that much. Even the animation itself seemed a little dull, with the potential for much detail and colour this element never impressed me and with the standard of other animations today it can’t really get away with it.

I don’t mean to be over critical of the film, sure I’m a fan of the video game, however it has to be said that this is a distinctly average animation. The fact that I am a fan probably does the film some favours as I can’t imagine people who haven’t played the video game having much patience for this. I didn’t hate the movie but I just didn’t have much fun with it, Paul Giamatti’s villain Drek was the best thing about the film and thankfully he gets a good bit of screen time but without his input there’s really nothing much worth seeing here.

Rating – 4/10

Question: What was your favourite video game growing up?
(Leave your answers in the comments section below!)


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


One thought on “Ratchet & Clank

Leave a Reply

