Sausage Party

sausage party

(spoiler free)

So far in 2016 few animations have really impressed me. I’m hoping that ‘Kubo and the Two Strings’ which is released in the next few weeks here in the UK can change that. However, saying that there have been plenty of good animations but just none that I’ve enjoyed as much as my favourites from previous years such as ‘How To Train Your Dragon 2’ or ‘Big Hero 6’. I wasn’t expecting ‘Sausage Party’ to join those titles amongst my recent favourites but rather was hoping for some good comedy in a rather poor comedic year.

The film begins with a torrent of vulgar dialogue filled with swearing which managed to get quite a lot of laughs. I have to say I don’t find swearing by itself to be very effective comedy but many others in my screening seemed to be tickled by it. The bad language does calm itself down after the initial scenes and its inclusion in the script is put to much better use as the film progresses and through particular characters. With a title like ‘Sausage Party’ you can already guess what the sexual connotations will be like in the film, not to mention Seth Rogen’s heavy involvement. So whilst this is a clear focus of the film I can’t really criticise it for that however personally I thought there was too much of a focus on the sexual comedy when the film was already funny in other ways. I thought the comedy worked best when the film played on the creativity it inspired. I had never seen anything like this before, each time our characters would discover a new aisle of the supermarket or a new group of characters were introduced I was really anticipating the reveal as I appreciated the originality so much.

There is a massive voice cast put to use here, many of which are very talented. The usual comedy suspects are all in on the party as would be expected; Seth Rogen, James Franco & Jonah Hill all use their funny-men abilities to good use here. The cast also features some names who wouldn’t be firstly associated with comedy. Salma Hayek and Edward Norton also got invited to the ‘Sausage Party’ and both voice very funny characters, especially Norton. He plays Sammy Bagel Jr. and stole the show for me. His character is great and he gets a lot of the biggest laughs, I’m probably slightly biased here as I’m a big fan of the actor but I really enjoyed his involvement and wouldn’t mind seeing him explore the comedy genre slightly more. Aside from the cast delivering their lines the film actually tries to say something about various topics such as religion and relationships. At times it risks being rather profound but never really accomplishes this due to the fact that these messages are usually coming from an item of sexually frustrated food.

Overall ‘Sausage Party’ is like nothing you’ve ever seen before, it’s fairly amusing and often funny. It made me laugh most through its creativity and originality in characters and setting however there is plenty and sometimes too much humour focused on sex and drugs. You’ll know yourself how you feel about this but just be warned that if you don’t like this kind of humour you’ll likely be disgusted by this animation. I found it to be a mixed experience in terms of laughs but generally it felt like a nice change of pace from the comedy offerings so far this year and it never felt like it was reaching its expiry date.

Rating – 6.5/10

Question: What is your favourite Seth Rogen comedy?
(Leave your answers in the comments section below!)


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


Leave a Reply

