Safe House

safe_house_ryan_reynolds

(spoilers)

Right from the start it was clear that this film was going to be one of many twists and turns. Very close to the start it is revealed that there is an inside man in the CIA, and I immediately decided upon it being Brendan Gleeson’s Barlow. However as the story unfolded I quickly changed my mind, coming to the conclusion that it must have been Vera Farmiga’s Linklater. The fact that it actually ended up being Barlow demonstrates the film’s very clever plot that always keeps you guessing.

This film was tense and this was helped by the unpredictability of Denzel Washington’s character, Frost. After the first quarter of the film it was clear that any pro-longed silences would be broken by a gun shot or car crash, however these still provided shock value. However at one stage in the middle of the film I did think the story was moving slightly too slowly. I thought Ryan Reynolds portrayed his character well and was a realistic hero showing emotion and taking hits just as much as he gave them out.

The actions sequences were good, I think the combat scenes were better than the driving scenes as I have seen much better in the other movies regarding car chases etc, but the fighting seemed realistic and believable. The use of slow-motion in parts also added to the shots.

At the conclusion to the film I was still slightly confused with the back story regarding Frost and I don’t know that the last scene featuring the interview/debrief was required however I did enjoyed Reynolds last line.

BIGGEST FLAW – Pacing

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Combat scenes


Rating – 8/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.



Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.