The Great Gatsby

Great Gatsby

(spoilers)

The Great Gatsby may well be a masterpiece in terms of visuals and acting, but the story just didn’t interest me. I enjoyed the first part of the movie and really liked the scene of the Leonardo DiCaprio’s Gatsby’s first big party, it was really interesting to see a party in the 20’s at such an extravagant level.  The soundtrack throughout is to be praised as well. I also liked the mystery regarding Gatsby’s past but when all was revealed it seemed slightly anti-climatic as was the scene with Gatsby confronting Joel Edgerton’s Buchanan.

I did also enjoy the scenes featuring the cars but it was clear that there was going to be some sort of accident regarding them. The scene where Gatsby is killed wasn’t very tense, I feel they could have built that more. I think I may have enjoyed this film more if I had read the book, as that was what others I watched it with said. However, fans of this kind of movie will love it and I’m sure it will do very well. It didn’t ruin my evening I but don’t think watching it added much to it.

BIGGEST FLAW – Narrative

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Visuals & Soundtrack


Rating – 5.5/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.



Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.