Man Of Steel

Man of Steel (2013)

Directed by Zack Snyder

Shown: Henry Cavill

(spoiler free)

So I missed the initial release of Man of Steel as I was out of the country and when I returned lots of movie fans were laying into it so I was even more intrigued to see what it was going to be like. This was also the first Superman film that I have ever seen and in short, I loved it.

The cast was brilliant, Henry Cavill, Kevin Costner, Russell Crowe and Amy Adams were all brilliant in the roles they play.  I am not usually a fan of Russel Crowe but his part was great.  Also at first when Amy Adams appeared on screen as Lois Lane I wasn’t that keen on her portrayal but very quickly I changed my mind and actually ended up loving her performance and she made the character really likeable.

I really enjoyed the various flashbacks to Clark’s childhood on earth and thought they were done really well especially the music in these scenes, Hans Zimmer’s score is excellent, creating a real sense of endearment to his earth family.  This franchise is clearly more geared towards science-fiction than some other superhero movies, but as long as you accept this fact the story is easy and enjoyable to follow.

Michael Shannon’s villain Zod was the only thing that wasn’t brilliant.  He was good but I just don’t think he was the villain that he could have been, he will quickly fade into the background of movie villains when you compare him to the likes of the Joker or Bane from the Batman series. However as this movie was a lot about Clark finding out who he was maybe a more minor villain was appropriate.

This film was epic it did remind me of the more serious superhero franchises, like that of Batman as it lacked in humour but I didn’t mind that at all, this could be the start of another great trilogy from the DC comics.

BIGGEST FLAW – The villain

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Zimmer’s score


Rating – 9/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


Comments

3 responses to “Man Of Steel”

  1. cevans1982 Avatar

    I really don’t get a lot of the negativity surrounding MoS, I thought it was great and a good start for the DC film universe. Anyway, here are my thoughts:

    Film review: Man of Steel (spoiler free)

    1. hcmoviereviews Avatar

      Yeah the hate baffled me too, what isn’t there to like! Still think it is one of Hans Zimmers best scores!

      1. cevans1982 Avatar

        Oh yes, definitely agree with you on Hans Zimmer’s score – his themes now come into mind more than the (still classic) John Williams score!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.