Despicable Me 2

Despecialble me 2

(spoiler free)

Despicable Me 2 has been the first animated film that I had actually wanted to see in the cinema for a long time, mainly because of how hilarious the first was. The minions were back in force and I enjoyed this one in a screening full of families, as is to be expected.

There were so many gags with the minions, most of which were genuinely funny, even for those over the age of 10. The rest of the characters were great as well. Gru (Steve Carell) was back at his best, and his new partner Lucy (Kristen Wiig) was a great addition to the sequel. I really liked all the spy stuff that went on in this one and I appreciated the subtle references to James Bond.  I also enjoyed the few references to the first movie but this movie could also stand alone from the first and you could enjoy Despicable Me 2 without having had to watched the original.

There was generally nothing I didn’t like about this film but it just didn’t seem as good as the first outing. However, saying that this is a film for kids and all the kids who were watching it at the same time as me LOVED it, and I really enjoyed it too. From sharks with rockets, to underwater cars to unimaginable first dates Despicable Me 2 really does have something for the whole family.

BIGGEST FLAW – No major flaws

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – The Minions

Written by Hamish Calvert


Rating – 9/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.