Side Effects

(spoilers)

I had heard great things about Side Effects and was disappointed that I didn’t make it to the cinema to see it.  However after watching it on DVD the one word that describes it very well is underwhelming.

There are no really likeable characters in this story which immediately makes it hard to engage with and at times it really is quite slow moving.  Yes the plot is clever and I think has potential but the way in which it is produced just doesn’t seem to work.  The shocks and the twists don’t really make much impact and at times I was confused to what was happening.

Once Jude Law’s character, Dr Banks begins to work out that something isn’t quite right it picks up slightly but the way he discovers the evidence just wasn’t as exciting as it could have been, resulting in a fairly bland film.  Saying that I did want to find out what the real plot was and it kept me watching.  Also once it was revealed that Emily had in fact planned Martin’s murder I was keen to discover her fate.  However, I thought the ending was pretty predictable and something a bit more risky or unexpected could have been of benefit to the overall feel of the movie.

BIGGEST FLAW – Underwhelming

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Good plot

Written by Hamish Calvert


RATING – 6/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.