The Heat

(spoiler free)

I went into The Heat with low expectations, and I think this is the only reason I didn’t completely write the movie off.  The concept is simple enough and has been done before well, however this time I don’t think that the buddy cop set up added much to the comedy.

Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy do a good job portraying their characters but unfortunately the writing for these characters was unoriginal and just not that interesting.  McCarthy’s character seemed far too similar to those she has played in the past so she her role didn’t have the impact that was probably intended.

The story was fairly boring as it has been done so many times before and it was pretty predictable. The comedy was hit and miss throughout the movie, some scenes were rather funny but most of the time the gags were simply amusing rather than laugh out loud hilarious.  I couldn’t help but notice similarities to 21 Jump Street and I found it hard not to compare the two films. Honestly I don’t think the characters in The Heat matched up to those of Jonah Hill’s and Channing Tatum’s and maybe it was too soon to have another movie of this type so soon after 21 Jump Street in 2012.

Now maybe I’m being too harsh, as I couldn’t help but notice that mostly everyone else in the cinema was really enjoying it and laughing at the comedy but I just didn’t think that this buddy cop comedy worked as well as its predecessors such as Bad Boys and 21 Jump Street. Also there is pretty dodgy special effects at one point, but I suppose there isn’t much point dwelling on that as it’s predominantly a comedy.  Most will enjoy watching The Heat but it is probably worth avoiding if you are looking for an outrageous comedy to really make you laugh. It’s neither actresses best performance but overall its’ a decent attempt at a comedy.

One positive was the fact that they didn’t labour the storyline involving Sandra Bullock’s love interest, Marlon Wayans. If there had of been endless soppy scenes involving the pair I don’t think I would have been able to cope, so I was happy that this was avoided.  The best way to describe this film would be inoffensive.

BIGGEST FLAW – Too similar to other movies of the same style

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Good performances from both lead actresses

Written by Hamish Calvert


RATING – 4/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.