The Wolverine

Image

(spoilers)

When you are in the cinema and you see and hear the flickering of comic book pages as the Marvel logo appears you know you are in for a treat. Wolverine, probably one of Marvels all time favorite characters, getting  another individual movie, I was thrilled. However, I was so disappointed with this movie.

Firstly it isn’t until about the last half an hour that anything really happens, the rest of the film is, dare I say it, quite boring.  The lack of action throughout is astounding and when we get some here and there the scenes are nothing special.  I was expecting the fight scenes, if anything, to be good in this movie because of it’s setting, they really didn’t exploit this well.  Star of the film, Will Yun Lee was quoted saying that – “You will never see more ninjas in a movie!”, there’s clearly a few gaps in his cinema knowledge.

The villains were pretty poor as well, and at one point there is three of them! It was hard to know who the main villain was and I’m not even sure that there was a main one. Viper sounded amazing on paper but was pretty rubbish on screen. More should have been done with this character, more screen time at least because she could have been memorable with a little effort.

A lot of this movie baffled me as well, I was surprised at how quickly Logan seems to get over Jean.  Throughout the movie scenes are played out showing how much he is struggling to move on, but as soon as he meets Mariko things are all better. I thought this was a bit of a cop out and would have liked to see Logan wrestle with this issue slightly more. Talking about references to the rest of the X-Men series, the after credits scene had no impact on me either. Possibly because of badly kept secrets regarding the plot of the next film, but the appearance of Magneto and Professor X did little for me and I think too much was shown in this clip, it should have just shown Logan spotting them or something.

I do realise how incredibly negative this review is, however it’s just because of how much I wanted to like the film.  I love all things Marvel and was just disappointed in the movie, with a few tweaks it could have been so much better, but instead it takes it place firmly at the bottom of the X-Men franchise.

However, in saying that the things that I did enjoy were Hugh Jackman’s portrayal of Wolverine, it is his 5th proper time in this role so as you would expect that he has this role perfected by now and he is always enjoyable to watch.

BIGGEST FLAW – Lack of pace and action

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Hugh Jackman’s performance

Written by Hamish Calvert


Rating – 5/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.