Hot Fuzz

 

(Spoilers)

So 2007s action comedy Hot Fuzz had evaded me until now but boy am I pleased that I have finally given it a watch.  I love action movies and I love buddy cop film’s ever more, so this had everything I wanted.

I loved the cast of actors involved in this film and it was fun to notice the smaller cameos which kept popping up throughout the film too (Bill Nighy, Martin Freeman and Bill Bailey etc). However, the star of this movie for me had to be Nick Frost, he was brilliant. His performance throughout was perfect. His character Danny Butterman was the key for this movie. I particularly enjoyed his references to older action films such as Point Break and Bad Boys II. The moment he reveals his DVD collection appealed to the movie fanatic in me.

Talking about the action, there is actually a decent amount featured in Hot Fuzz. Of course the final scene is the best and completely worth waiting for, you will not be disappointed. Timothy Daltons’ performance was also very enjoyable and he was a great addition to the cast, a good villain for the movie.  The Sandford Police Service characters were all brilliant and contributed really well to the comedy too, especially the Andys!

The comedy was consistent throughout, although I didn’t think there were really any properly hilarious moments. Nonetheless, the comments made by characters throughout always provided amusement and that was enough to make this action comedy thoroughly entertaining. Thankfully the soppy love storyline found in so many films was ignored this time which was refreshing.  I really didn’t have many issues with this movie, maybe at one point the plot was beginning to become a bit ridiculous but I honestly think they got the balance right.

BIGGEST FLAW – Maybe could have taken the comedy a bit further

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Nick Frost/Danny Butterman

Simon Pegg and Nick Frost deliver a brilliant action comedy that fans of either genre will thoroughly enjoy. A definite for any movie fans DVD collection.


RATING – 9/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let us know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop us a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.