Muppets Most Wanted (Cinema Screening)

Image(Spoiler free)

The Muppets is a phenomenon that I have never quite understood, with a clear following and massive fan base it was obvious that there was something appealing about this strange group of characters. I had simply never seen a Muppets movie before Most Wanted – I had seen TV appearances but nothing from those really engaged me or made me want to see more. Despite this, I thought it was about time that I checked out a movie to see if the hype was warranted.

From what I could work out Most Wanted picks up straight from the ending of the last movie however this was no issue in terms of enjoying or understanding the events of this movie. Most Wanted is also a musical, I am honestly not sure if this is always the case but it certainly is for Most Wanted.  Musicals is a hit and miss genre for me but I can confirm that it most definitely is a hit in terms of Most Wanted.  The songs were fantastic, the majority of them were immediately catchy and cleverly written allowing for humour to flow through them so easily. Unfortunately the strength of the songs did steadily decrease until the finale which was a shame however the first 5 or so really were brilliant and due to that I will have to pick up the soundtrack. The film itself is probably a tad too long as at points I did think it would have benefited from a more short and snappy feel as once you really recognise the ridiculousness of the story it can become risky.

Despite these qualms the film is endlessly enjoyable for a smorgasbord of reasons. I have already mentioned the songs but on top of these I loved the constant cameos that featured throughout – these always provided a laugh and kept things moving if there ever was a risk of it dragging.  The 3 lead actors were also fantastic, Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey and Ty Burrell. Ty Burrell was easily my favourite thing about this movie, best known for his role as Phil Dunphy in hit comedy series Modern Family, his comedic performances are always top quality and Muppets Most Wanted is no different. The humour in the movie wasn’t always laugh out loud hilarious but it was provided more so through the songs and cameos however there were some great lines of dialogue that contributed to this element too.  Most Wanted was crazy, the film is ridiculous but it is ridiculously great.  It is probably the most random film I have seen this year but it has been one of the better ones! Easily paving the way for me to explore past efforts from this bunch which I am sure to enjoy if they are anything similar to Most Wanted.

BIGGEST FLAW – Tad too long

BIGGEST ACHIEVEMENT – Ty Burrells performance

Rating – 8/10 

Comments

One response to “Muppets Most Wanted (Cinema Screening)”

  1. Sisters (Cinema Screening) | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] The same can be said for Tina Fey really as I only recall seeing ‘Date Night’ & ‘Muppets Most Wanted’ from her filmography.  This was no issue though as the pair have thoroughly convinced me of their […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.