Room

ROOM_hires_poster_crop2

(spoiler free)

Nominated for Lead Actress, Director and Best Picture at the 2016 Oscars, ‘Room’ has certainly impressed the Academy, but could it impress me? I went into this film knowing very little about it, this is no bad thing though as I avoid trailers and plot synopsis’ like the plague. I’m so glad that I wasn’t familiar with the plot here and I’d reccomend that anyone who sees this film doesn’t read around it first.

‘Room’ features two of the best performances I’ve seen in a drama for a very long time. Brie Larson is wonderful as, Joy Newsome – a mother who has been kidnapped and now lives in a single room with her child, Jack. Having looked Brie Larson up she has actually acted in quite a few films that I’ve seen but she never stood out to me before. Well from now on any film that has her name attached to it will firmly have my attention. She plays her complex character so well and displays the perfect range of emotion for a woman in her context. She is very much part of a duo though, made up by 9 year old Jacob Tremblay who plays Larson’s on screen son, Jack. People have been discussing how this year is finally the year Leonardo DiCaprio will win his Oscar, and rightly so, thankfully though Leo can dry the sweat from his brow due to the Academy not including Tremblay in their nominations, which really is baffling. Tremblay impressed me so much and could wipe the floor with most professional actors more than twice his age. Tremblay has provided us with one of the most breath-taking child performances cinema has ever seen. The chemistry between these two characters is awesome. Whilst the film is most definitely about these characters the supporting cast is very good too, fulfilling their roles well enabling the quality of the film to be consistent throughout.

The story itself is told in so many wonderful ways creating the perfect balance between a thriller and a drama. Certain elements that I really appreciated were the way the audience got to see thing from Jack’s point of view, this angle was employed throughout the film to much effect. The film manages to be captivating, engaging and entertaining despite it’s claustrophobic setting which can be hard to achieve. There was just so much to this film, it takes time with it’s characters and their relationships but it also explores so many ideas that can only come about from the story. What’s even better though is the fact that each of these elements is explored just the right about and it’s how they are all seamlessly woven together which really complements the film. One element that I didn’t notice that much was the score however I know that it did it’s job. It wasn’t obvious, yet I knew it was there. It enhanced the drama rather than taking the limelight. The drama element was done so well and as a result ‘Room’ is one of the most emotional films I’ve ever seen. It’s touching, sad and heart-breaking at times. This film goes further into it’s exploration of it’s themes than I’ve seen any similar film do so.

‘Room’ is a powerhouse of a film and I hope as many people see it as possible. It takes the world as we know it and flips it right on its head, allowing thinking from a so limited and un-tapped but revealing perspective.

Rating – 10/10


If you enjoyed this review maybe you would consider voting for me at the UK Blog Awards 2016. Follow THIS LINK to do so.


 

Comments

3 responses to “Room”

  1. The 5th Wave | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] the movie too, who are now all measured against Jacob Tremblay’s unbelievable performance in ‘Room’,contribute little to the film. However the character who suffers least from poor writing or lack of […]

  2. Spotlight | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] to catch up on after the nominations are announced. A couple of weeks ago I caught the brilliant ‘Room’ and after that I was just left with ‘The Big Short’ and ‘Spotlight’. Two […]

  3. Top 50 Best Films of 2016 | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] To read my full REVIEW click HERE. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.