Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

jack-reacher-2

(spoiler free)

Back in 2012, not content with already being super spy Ethan Hunt from the ‘Mission Impossible’ series, Tom Cruise took on the mantle of ex-army major ‘Jack Reacher’. At the time I remember quite enjoying the film but it wasn’t until just before the release of this sequel that I revisited it and unfortunately it didn’t quite hold up as well as I remembered it. Nonetheless it wasn’t a bad action movie and I was hoping that ‘Jack Reacher: Never Go Back’ could improve on what had come before it.

Tom Cruise has countless action films to his name, he hardly needs to prove himself in the genre anymore but it’s good to see him still giving his all in his performances. He hasn’t starting calling in performances yet and ‘Jack Reacher: Never Go Back’ is proof of this as he leads the cast with energy and confidence. Cruise fans will not be disappointed as there is so much running in this movie! Alongside Cruise comes Cobie Smulders, star of the MCU, she too has proven herself to be a good action star and it was refreshing to see her in a more central role. She holds her own with Cruise and the pair have good chemistry both packing a punch. The action is easily the best thing about this movie. These scenes are at their best in the hand to hand combat moments or the fast paced chase sequences. There are plenty of these throughout the movie and they are such good fun with a more brutal level of violence than was expected at times.

Unfortunately the praise for this action sequel doesn’t go much further as there are so many cheesy moments throughout the movie that at times it’s hard to take it seriously. Thankfully the strength of the action counteracts this and stops the film as a whole becoming one big cheese fest but there are so many individual moments which just come across as lazy and unoriginal. Other than the leads the supporting characters were all pretty terrible. The villains of the piece are all immediately forgettable and none are fleshed out, those that get an attempt at this are unashamedly cliche ridden. It’s a shame that Tom Cruise was the only returning cast member from the first film as the likes of Rosamund Pike, Robert Duvall or Richard Jenkins would have greatly benefited this sequel. Instead we get one of the most irritating characters of the year in the shape of Samantha Dayton, a teenage girl somehow connected with Reacher played by Danika Yarosh. I hated her character and I thought most of her scenes really dragged the film down. As a result the film can feel long at times, once again the action scenes save it from ever becoming boring however with several false finales I couldn’t blame anyone for finding it a bit monotonous.

Although I have many criticisms of the film it never becomes hateful and all in all isn’t a bad watch. Thanks to the strong lead performances and solid action ‘Jack Reacher: Never Go Back’ is a passable action flick offering a two hour break from the real world. Whilst it doesn’t outdo the original film it’s also no worse and I imagine that fans of the first film will enjoy this. Don’t be expecting the best action film, or best Cruise film and you’ll be able to find some entertainment with this sequel.

Rating – 6/10

Question: What is your favourite Tom Cruise action movie?
(Leave your answers in the comments section below!)


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


 

Comments

4 responses to “Jack Reacher: Never Go Back”

  1. Rob (Reel Film) Avatar
    Rob (Reel Film)

    I’ve enjoyed a few of the Reacher books and can’t help but feel Cruise is totally the wrong choice. Ive not seen either of the films but looks like they’ve missed an opportunity to do a really interesting film series instead going for generic Tom Cruise action flicks. I also refuse to watch Tom Cruise films, can’t take the guy seriously after watching the ‘Going Clear’ Scientology documentary. He’s a total sociopath.
    Anyway I digress, nice review!

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      You’d be right there, for me he doesn’t fit the role of the wanderer who sort of thrives off trouble. Although as I don’t have a good grasp of the character I think I more easily accept Cruise’s portrayal. I can understand that mate, personally I don’t know much about his life outside of the movies and I’ll probably keep it that way because I enjoy so many of his films. Cheers Rob!

      1. Rob (Reel Film) Avatar
        Rob (Reel Film)

        It’s a great documentary, I’d really recommend it, but doesn’t make pretty reading if you’re a fan of Cruise unfortunately! I’ve always enjoyed most of his stuff too, big fan of Edge of Tomorrow!

      2. HCMovieReviews Avatar

        I might look into that at some stage then, taking a bigger interest in documentaries than I used to. Yes lad, Edge of Tomorrow is wonderful, great sci-fi movie, super action and a lot of fun too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.