Transformers: The Last Knight

transformers 5

(spoiler free)

Most cinema goers were able to tolerate the first ‘Transformers’ film back in 2007. Some might even admit that they enjoyed it. However one decade later and now five films deep into the series, few have remained so kind to these films. I seem to be somewhat of an exception to this though. Whilst there is a vast range in quality across the first four films I still get great entertainment from each of them. The passionate hate many have for the series also entertains me to a degree, as a result I was quite looking forward to ‘Transformers: The Last Knight’.

Unfortunately, or you might say fortunately, this fifth installment is where I’ve now come to the conclusion that the ‘Transformers’ film franchise should be laid to rest. Leading the cast here is Mark Wahlberg, complete with terrible haircut, reprising his role as Cade Yeager from the previous film. He’s your standard every day hero but his performance never seems as invested as his work in ‘Transformers: Age of Extinction’. My favourite thing about that film was easily Stanley Tucci’s performance as Joshua Joyce. So you could understand my delight when I heard he was returning for ‘The Last Knight’. However, all that resulted from his involvement was disappointment. For some absurd reason Joyce must have been written out of the script so instead Tucci portrays Merlin the medieval wizard. Yeah you read that right, it’s as bizarre as it sounds. Also returning, but from the original trilogy are Josh Duhamel & John Turturro. Duhamel is fine in the generic solider role but like Wahlberg fails to be as likeable as before. Turturro’s role is barely more than a cameo and similarly to Tucci seems like wasted potential.

There’s a range of other supporting characters too however several of these get introduced only to disappear for the majority of the movie. They finally reappear during the finale but their involvement seemed pointless in the grand scheme of things. This isn’t so much of a problem but this also applied to main autobot Optimus Prime. He’s one of, if not the best character the series has so to hide him away for so much of the movie was a poor judgement call in my opinion. You’ll be able to distract yourself from the monotony of the film by guessing the voice cast for the numerous different Transformers. Some are voiced by returning performers and others by new additions to the cast. Jim Carter probably comes across best with his comical portrayal of a trans-formative butler somehow managing to be the most likeable character.

Moving past the huge cast the real problems lie in the concept and narrative. The overall idea of Transformers meets the Knights of the Round Table just didn’t do it for me. Don’t ask me how I was okay with Dinobots but this just felt like a step too far, even for ‘Transformers’. The whole idea was far too convoluted and would have befitted from some simplicity.  The whole time I found myself pinning for a straightforward Autobot vs Decepticons plot but it never happened. We’ve already seen one poorly executed King Arthur blockbuster this year, we didn’t need another. The story is just incredibly boring and failed to grip me at any stage from beginning to end. The monotony is something else and the film features some of the worst finale fatigue I have seen for some time. Despite this the action is always well executed and as expected the CGI is impressive. However, being five films in now it’s a challenge to be creative yet credible with these sequences and this showed with none of the action scenes really exciting me.

I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t a tiny bit disappointed that ‘Transformers: The Last Knight’ has turned out as poorly as it has. I always enjoyed standing up for the series and director Michael Bay but this time around it is truly as shite as everyone is and will be making it out to be. It’s easily the worst ‘Transformers’ film there’s been and not only that it’s taking the crown for worst blockbuster of the year so far as well.

Rating – 2/10

Question: How do you rank the ‘Transformers’ film series?
(Leave your answers in the comments section below!)


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.