Doctor Strange

doctor-strange-quad-poster

(spoiler free)

‘Doctor Strange’ is the second of the two MCU movies to be released this year and the fourteenth in the overall canon. With so many films coming before it now and none less than the fan boy favourite ‘Captain America: Civil War’ only a few months previous this latest Marvel offering had plenty to live up to. So would the introduction of a new character and story make a refreshing change or is this a step too far from what we know and love about the MCU?

As it would be expected being the first film with the titular character the narrative is really an origin story. We’ve seen no less than three origin stories already in the MCU, arguably more if you include ‘Thor’ & ‘The Incredible Hulk’, each being wildly entertaining whilst helping to establish now much loved characters. However for me ‘Doctor Strange’ was far from this. The film takes so long to get going and I found myself being massively uninterested in everything on screen. Aside from the beginning of the film I thought that the narrative as a whole lacked the fun and excitement of other films in the MCU, especially in the action sequences which I will explain later in this review. I think one of the main reasons that I struggled with the story came down to the fact that I really disliked the character of Stephen Strange. I don’t think it’s always necessary for main characters to be likeable in films but in this universe if you can’t back the ‘hero’ I just don’t see the point. This is no criticism of Benedict Cumberbatch’s performance as I thought he did fine, much like the rest of the cast but generally I just didn’t like the characters as they were so generic. I am going to stop getting excited when these Marvel films cast such wonderful actors, such as Mads Mikkelsen, in the villainous roles as once again they fail to do anything interesting with the baddie here. The use of these characters fulfills a basic story we’ve seen a million times before and unfortunately Strange’s journey from student to master appears to come with no real struggle, making it seem undeveloped and largely quite dull. The dialogue used throughout the run time is either made up of sorcery mumbo jumboΒ  or proverb style quotes about leaving the past behind and becoming a new you. The combination of all this made for a surprisingly boring endurance test.

I’ll admit that the film does look very good, props has to go to the team who were behind the special effects for this film. However I did find the choice of colour and design a little garish at times but for the most part this film is a treat for the eyes. These visuals are mainly present in the action sequences which have clearly been well choreographed and edited after filming. It’s a shame that none of them worked for me though. I find the subject matter of the film, magic, and it’s endless impossibilities to remove every ounce of tension and suspense that these sequences might have had. When it seems that characters can do anything there just aren’t any stakes to these moments and the whole thing becomes so monotonous. I couldn’t even distract myself with the music accompanying these scenes as the score is a disgraceful rip off of the recent theme from the rebooted ‘Star Trek’ films, the similarities are undeniable. As well as this, and unusually so for a Marvel film, I found that nearly none of the humour landed. There are a few so bad, that they are good jokes throughout but generally the gags were falling flat and the audience’s, who I watched this with, silence told me that I wasn’t the only one that the comedy wasn’t working for. Maybe magic just isn’t for me but I found the whole thing a little silly, silly, in a world with a man who talks to ants and the big green guy I hear you ask!? Unfortunately so, just too many elements failed to do their jobs here and I can’t say I enjoyed watching this film.

In a rare misfire from Marvel, it was bound to happen sooner or later, ‘Doctor Strange’ is the lowest point in the Marvel Cinematic Universe so far. With the core narrative being so poorly thought through and lacking any real engaging substance the film struggles from the get go. It can’t even rely on the usually strong music or humour we’ve come to love and expect in these movies. The work and effort gone into the film can be seen in the visuals and action sequences but it’s a shame that in the way they are brought to screenΒ  they can’t even be enjoyed as part of the overall narrative. The mid credits scene is the best thing about the whole film but not worth sitting through the massive disappointment that this was for me. Hopefully you’ll be able to find more enjoyment out of it than I did.

Rating – 4/10Β 

Question: What is your least favourite film in the MCU so far?
(Leave your answers in the comments section below!)


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


Comments

9 responses to “Doctor Strange”

  1. CR@B Howard Avatar

    Nice review πŸ‘πŸ» While I can’t say I concur with it being a “misfire” as I personally really enjoyed it, you bring a balanced arguement to the table. 😊

    I’m also relieved someone else noticed the blatant similarities in the musical score – I also mentioned them in my review as they stood out a MILE to me!

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      Thank you, I’ll admit that I disliked it more than it being bad, if that makes sense? I think it will come down to a personal preference rather than quality although I found many elements questionable. I expect there to be a big fan base for this movie. I actually couldn’t get over that music in the film, I though I had gone mad or something haha!

      1. CR@B Howard Avatar

        That’a a fair assessment – there are a lot of really great/classic films that I’m “meh” about (particularly war films and westerns!).

        If you’re mad I’m certified because I picked up on it too! πŸ˜‚

        Thanks for the follow and RT, btw, greatly appreciated! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ»

  2. Plain, Simple Tom Avatar

    My least favourite MCU film would probably be Iron Man 2

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      That always seems to be people’s answer, I don’t think it’s a bad film but maybe suffers from comparison.

  3. Chris Evans Avatar

    Good review. I enjoyed the film overall but I’m glad that someone else out there has picked up on the humour, I really felt it undermined parts of it and at this point Marvel seem to be throwing in gags just for the sake of it. Look at Captain America: The Winter Soldier, arguably one of their very best – it has some little moments of humour that don’t feel out of place, even Civil War – Spider-Man and Ant-Man are humorous characters and beacause of that the gags work.

    It’s certainly bolstered by the awesome visuals and Benedict Cumberbatch’s performance and I definitetly look forward to Doctor Strange’s role in future MCU films but, please, tone the slapstick down!

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      I thought the one name gag was awful and dragged out way too long. Love Ant-Man and Spidey in terms of the humour for Civil War, more of that please! Thanks for commenting.

      1. Chris Evans Avatar

        That was definitely one of the weakest gags!

  4. Top 10 Worst Films of 2016 | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] To read my full REVIEW click HERE. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.