13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

13-feat

(spoiler free)

Personally I don’t get the problem that people have with Michael Bay, the dude makes entertaining films for the masses, what is not to like!? His classics like ‘The Rock’ and ‘Armageddon’ seem to be favourites amongst many film fans and he gets way too much stick for the ‘Transformers’ series which actually has a lot going for it. However once I saw positive reviews surfacing for ’13 Hours’ I dared to believe that people were finally giving the guy some credit and after seeing the film I can say that he definitely deserves it.

Films that focus on terrorism or the Middle East usually go one of two ways, either they focus on the political side of things too much and it becomes boring (‘Body of Lies’, ‘Green Zone’) or they choose to highlight the characters and action more and are therefore way more entertaining (‘American Sniper’, ‘Jarhead’). Of course with this being a Michael Bay film, ’13 Hours’ is action heavy and as a result we get a very entertaining film. Bay is the king of explosions and I don’t know that there has ever been a more appropriate setting for him to utilise this title than in a middle east war film. The action sequences are always exciting and gripping, there are a couple at the start of the film that are particularly good setting up the film very well. Alongside the action is of course our characters. All of the main guys are pretty likeable and they are played very convincingly by the cast. Some of the actors involved include James Badge Dale (’24’, ‘Iron Man 3’ & ‘The Walk’) and Max Martini (‘Sabotage’, ‘Captain Phillips’ & ‘Pacific Rim’). All the cast do a good job though, making us like their characters through moments of comedy and drama. Likable characters are so crucial for films like these and Bay nailed this aspect of the movie.

Whilst the action and the characters were pretty great there were a couple of very small flaws too. Shaky cam is something that plagues most action movies these days, however here in this war zone setting I felt it was used appropriately although there were a few scenes nearer the beginning of the movie that could have done without it. The film also has a very long running time attached to it, nearly reaching two and a half hours. Don’t let this concern you too much though as you only really feel the films length on one occasion and it doesn’t last too long. Bay is actually great at sustaining audiences interest for long periods of time and he’s done it here once again almost without any time checks from the viewers necessary. ’13 Hours’ does have an element of cheesiness to it, another of Bay’s trademarks, however this mainly occurs in its final moments and the usual amount of cheese injected is considerably less than we’d be used to. This restraint meant that the level of drama and emotion included combined with the weight of the true story allowed the film to be as effective as it could be in this element.

I imagine that many will claim this to be Bay’s most credible film to date but for me it’s simply another very entertaining entry into his filmography. The strength of the true story helps the film in a big way but the inclusion of likeable characters and gripping action means that ’13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi’ is one of the most enjoyable middle east action film we’ve seen in a long time.

Rating – 8/10


Thanks for reading this review and please let me know what you thought about the movie! Leave a comment below or drop me a tweet over at @HCMovieReviews.


 

 

Comments

10 responses to “13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi”

  1. Dan O. Avatar

    It’s a bit better than most of Bay’s other movies, but still pretty bad all the same. Nice review.

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      Haha, it’s certainly one of his best I think and I don’t think it’s bad at all! Thanks man.

  2. The Film Editorial Avatar

    I’m really looking forward to seeing this at some point. I knew that Bay could make something good again. It’s just further proof that he’s just too into his Transformers movies. The money made has really gotten to his head and so he just shoots whatever the hell he wants with them. He’s not a bad director, he just has a huge ego and Transformers is a negative reflection of it. Great review! Check out my blog if you get a moment. I look forward to reading more of your stuff! 🙂

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      Haha well I am kinda biased in a conversation about Transformers as I love the movies, I can see why some would dislike them but I don’t get the hate that some people seem to have for them! However, 13 Hours should silence those critics. Just had a look at your blog, looks great and just my kind of thing. Are you on Twitter?

      1. The Film Editorial Avatar

        To be totally totally fair, I don’t hate the Transformers movies either. In fact I like the 1st a lot. 2nd is meh, and the 3rd was pretty entertaining. I didn’t bother with the 4th yet because it’s my understanding that it’s just more of the same again. But I’ll likely check it out at some point.
        Thanks for checking out my blog! Much appreciated. I’m not on Twitter, but I do have a Facebook page.

      2. HCMovieReviews Avatar

        I’m pretty much with you on that analysis. The first one is so solid, the second was too silly and disappointing. The third is a personal favourite of mine, I love the scale and ex-change for Megan Fox for Rosie HW. The fourth is fun but yes more of the same, it has Stanley Tucci though so has to be worth a look! Thanks for your kind words about my review, you should join the party on twitter! In the mean time I’ll give your FB a like!

      3. The Film Editorial Avatar

        Thanks so much! Keep up the awesome work!

  3. Mel Avatar

    Great review. I have love/hate relationship with Michael Bay’s films (love Transformers 1 and 3, like Bad Boys, hate Transformers 2). But like you, I can’t understand why critics love to tear Bay apart. This one sounds interesting; I’ll put it on my to-watch list.

    P.S. – Thanks for not revealing any spoilers.

    1. HCMovieReviews Avatar

      Thank you! Well I’m glad that we can agree on the Transformers franchise, I love 1 and 3. Bad Boys is great too. Often critics like to tear apart simple entertainment, if there isn’t a hidden metaphor behind it they don’t think it’s thought through. It’s definitely one of his best films for sure, I don’t like it more than Transformers but it is still awesome!

  4. Top 50 Best Films of 2016 | HCMovieReviews Avatar

    […] To read my full REVIEW click HERE. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.